• Cart
Log in

Log in

home page banner blank


Our Associates


Elizabeth Weir

Elizabeth Weir

Elizabeth Weir served as a Canadian parliamentarian for 14 years, winning four elections. She gained national recognition for her work as a parliamentarian. As a legislator, she successfully secured government support for several Private Member’s Bills – more than any other Canadian legislator during her terms as a parliamentarian.

Ms. Weir also has extensive experience in both budgetary and legislative oversight through her work as a parliamentary committee member, having served successive terms as a Public Accounts Committee member.

In 2005, Ms. Weir left federal politics and was appointed as a Deputy Minister to establish the New Brunswick’s first energy efficiency and conservation agency. Under her stewardship, Efficiency NB became a national leader in energy efficiency programs, winning an international award for its industrial energy efficiency program.

Ms. Weir is accredited as a “Parliamentary Advisor” with U.N.D.P.’s Democratic Governance Roster of Experts, as well as a consultant with the National Democratic Institute, the European Union, the O.S.C.E., and the World Bank Institute.

Working in some 25 countries, she has wide-ranging experience in capacity building and training in governance and oversight with parliamentarians and political party activists.

She has also served as a member of international election missions in Tunisia (2011 and 2014), Morocco (2011), and Georgia (2012). In 2013, she was a member of the Leadership Team for the National Democratic Institute’s observation mission in Jordan’s parliamentary elections.

A lawyer by training, Ms. Weir lives in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada and she and her husband, James Stanley, have one daughter, Sarah Stanley.

Our Team

John Reed

President and CEO

jreed@caaf-fcar.ca

613.882.7586

Marie-Hélène Bérubé

Program Officer, Gender Equality and Ethics, International Programs

mhberube@caaf-fcar.ca

343.548.4988

Lesley Burns

Director, Oversight

lburns@caaf-fcar.ca

613.983.6194

Lynne Casiple

IT and Web Officer

lcasiple@caaf-fcar.ca

613.402.5300

Jane Cheesman

Vice-President, Operations and Chief Financial Officer

jcheesman@caaf-fcar.ca

343.548.4999

Sharon Clark

Vice-President, Professional Development

sclark@caaf-fcar.ca

613.301.4861

Véronique Coch

Director, Communications and Stakeholder Relations

vcoch@caaf-fcar.ca

613.402.1891

Barbara Dumont

Program Officer, International Fellowships, International Programs

bdumont@caaf-fcar.ca

613.601.8700

Pierre Fréchette

Director of Research, Products and Services

pfrechette@caaf-fcar.ca

613.558.5300

Yves Genest

Vice-President,
Products and Services

ygenest@caaf-fcar.ca

613.878.2710

Kate Gertz

Communications and Reporting Officer, International Programs

kgertz@caaf-fcar.ca

613.558.4800

Caroline Jorgensen

Interim Vice-President,
International Programs

cjorgensen@caaf-fcar.ca

613.262.1586

James Oulton

Governance and Research Officer

joulton@caaf-fcar.ca

613.724.9300

Thera Pritchard

Administrative Coordinator

tpritchard@caaf-fcar.ca

613.241.6713

Julien Raynaud

Projects Officer,
Professional Development

jraynaud@caaf-fcar.ca

613.407.6300

Mandy Ricard

Administration and Logistics Officer, International Programs

mricard@caaf-fcar.ca

613.406.0200

Sherazade Shafiq

Program Officer, International Methodology and Training, International Programs

sshafiq@caaf-fcar.ca

613.867.7814

Zaid Shaikh

Senior Finance and Risk Officer


zshaikh@caaf-fcar.ca

613.407.9600